southtownstar.suntimes.com http://southtownstar.suntimes.com Latest news from The Southtown Star Online en-us Wed, 28 Jul 2010 14:10:16 PDT webmaster@suntimes.com http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/csp/cms/sites/STM/assets/img/logos/southtownstar.gif Southtown Star logo http://southtownstar.suntimes.com 84 34 30 Copyright 2014 <![CDATA[ ]]> Lead story image

… ]]> Wed, 22 Oct 2014 20:26:00 -0500 http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/30593493-474/story.html http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/30593493-474/story.html <![CDATA[ Operating Engineers Local 150 helps Grimm to help Quinn ]]> Lead story image

I wasn’t hugely surprised when Local 150 of the International Union of Operating Engineers contributed $30,000 this month to Chad Grimm, the Illinois Libertarian Party’s candidate for governor. After all, Local 150’s president, Jim Sweeney, was out in front of the push to beat Bruce Rauner during the Republican primary election in March. After a stormy meeting with Rauner, who’s running on a pledge to allow local areas to opt in to a “right to work” law, Sweeney demanded that organized labor stop Rauner in his tracks. The law would give workers the right to not join the unions that … ]]> Thu, 23 Oct 2014 04:49:30 -0500 http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/30592354-474/operating-engineers-local-150-helps-grimm-to-help-quinn.html http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/30592354-474/operating-engineers-local-150-helps-grimm-to-help-quinn.html <![CDATA[ Speak Out for Oct. 23, 2014 ]]> Lead story image

Have you noticed when President Obama’s leadership rating fell to a new low? You don’t see Michelle and their children by his side voting like before. Scotty and Tony from Oak Lawn I see that someone thinks we should be celebrating Obamacare because it does not appear to be as bad as almost everyone said it will be. The reason is because almost none of it has been implemented yet. Obama and the Dems keep pushing more and more of it out until after the 2014 elections. I wonder what they are afraid of? Your paper reported that the state … ]]> Thu, 23 Oct 2014 04:45:21 -0500 http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/30594590-474/speak-out-for-oct-23-2014.html http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/30594590-474/speak-out-for-oct-23-2014.html <![CDATA[ Forum: It doesn’t make sense ]]>

Let me see if I have this right. President Barack Obama wants $3.7 billion for illegal aliens in the border crisis. We send millions and millions in foreign aid to God-knows-how-many countries around the world every year. We police the world, yet we do not have money to rebuild crumbling schools and infrastructure and cannot get it together to provide an excellent health care system to take care of our citizens. We are supposed to be a nation of laws, yet those in charge routinely ignore and manipulate them. The worst of it is that the people re-elect most of … ]]> Thu, 23 Oct 2014 04:49:51 -0500 http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/30593500-474/forum-it-doesnt-make-sense.html http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/30593500-474/forum-it-doesnt-make-sense.html <![CDATA[ Speak Out for Oct. 22, 2014 ]]> Lead story image

I’d like to thank President Obama for endorsing Pat Quinn for governor here in the bankrupt state of Illinois. Now, with a clear conscience, I truly believe that Bruce Rauner is without a doubt the correct choice for Illinois governor. Don from Orland Park I recently saw a sign that would be funny if not so ludicrously incorrect. It read, “Save the middle class, vote Democratic.” The gap between the wealthy and poor has grown throughout the Obama administration. According to Dems, the wealthy are anyone with more than $200,000 in income. That makes the middle class everyone between poverty … ]]> Tue, 21 Oct 2014 21:55:31 -0500 http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/30575029-474/speak-out-for-oct-22-2014.html http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/30575029-474/speak-out-for-oct-22-2014.html <![CDATA[ Speak Out for Oct. 21, 2014 ]]> Lead story image

Isn’t it ironic that the sports commentators, e.g., 670 The Score, can critique what is wrong with the Bears game plan and determine what needs to be corrected, but the coaching staff responsible for the performance cannot. Terry in Mount Greenwood In addition to all of the good things happening as a result of the ACA, let’s not overlook that all of the major health insurance companies have posted on average a 32 percent profit for the past year. So much for the federal takeover of the health care industry. Oak Forest Mr. Quinn, can you tell the people what … ]]> Tue, 21 Oct 2014 02:07:57 -0500 http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/30557489-474/speak-out-for-oct-21-2014.html http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/30557489-474/speak-out-for-oct-21-2014.html <![CDATA[ Speak Out for Oct. 20, 2014 ]]> Lead story image

I just want to remind everyone that John Boehner promised, but has yet to come up with, a replacement for Obamacare. Why? He doesn’t have a better plan, that is why. Remember that the next time the House takes a vacation. Suppose you have an extra $10K to invest and you only have two people who could invest it for you. Pat Quinn or Bruce Rauner, which of the two would you trust with your money? Burbank Why is it called hysteria to just protect the citizens of the United States by any means necessary or available to us from … ]]> Mon, 20 Oct 2014 13:42:00 -0500 http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/30524272-474/speak-out-for-oct-20-2014.html http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/30524272-474/speak-out-for-oct-20-2014.html <![CDATA[ ]]> Lead story image

… ]]> Fri, 17 Oct 2014 23:54:30 -0500 http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/30500669-474/story.html http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/30500669-474/story.html <![CDATA[ Reeder: A chat with former Indiana Gov. Mitch Daniels ]]> Lead story image

Mitch Daniels has been a transformational leader for Indiana. During his eight years as governor, he charted a much different course for the Hoosier State than the one taken by Illinois. Last week, I sat down with the former governor, who’s now president of Purdue University, and discussed his time at Indiana’s helm. “I told my people early on in my administration that I wanted to build the best sandbox in America. I wanted to create an environment that encouraged the hiring of people and more investment in Indiana,” Daniels said. “I asked them to consider what they can do … ]]> Sun, 19 Oct 2014 02:13:56 -0500 http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/30485488-474/reeder-a-chat-with-former-indiana-gov-mitch-daniels.html http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/30485488-474/reeder-a-chat-with-former-indiana-gov-mitch-daniels.html <![CDATA[ Varjavand: A controversial plan to deter rising income inequality ]]> Lead story image

Numerous books have been written about economic inequality, especially in the aftermath of the Great Recession, but none has received as much attention from the academic community as “Capital in the Twenty-First Century” by French economist Thomas Piketty. The depth and breadth of analyses presented in this book, published last year, as well as detailed data on income inequality since the 18th century are destined to make this book a classic. Piketty argues, along with many other economists, that income inequality is not inherently bad — as long as it is not intense and works for the common good of … ]]> Sun, 19 Oct 2014 02:14:27 -0500 http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/30235328-474/varjavand-a-controversial-plan-to-deter-rising-income-inequality.html http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/30235328-474/varjavand-a-controversial-plan-to-deter-rising-income-inequality.html <![CDATA[ Forum: Thanks for ALS support ]]>

On behalf of the Les Turner ALS Foundation, I want to thank everyone who supported the 13th annual ALS Walk for Life on Sept. 21. Approximately 7,000 participants on more than 250 teams helped raise $1.2 million, making this year’s ALS Walk for Life our largest and most successful fundraising event in our 37-year history. It’s a truly special day where people gather to offer help and hope to those affected by ALS. This year, the Ice Bucket Challenge thrust ALS into the public eye, enabling us to surpass our fundraising goals. As the executive director of the Les Turner … ]]> Sun, 19 Oct 2014 02:14:16 -0500 http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/30500671-474/forum-thanks-for-als-support.html http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/30500671-474/forum-thanks-for-als-support.html <![CDATA[ Speak Out for Oct. 19, 2014 ]]> Lead story image

Each new mobile device comes out and it’s thinner and thinner. My phone from four years ago wasn’t too thick. It would be nice if the new phone was the same thickness as my old phone but had a three-day battery life. Rick from Evergreen Park As far as skipping the direct route to the U.S. from Africa and going through another country (to sneak in), visas are checked where you have traveled in the past 30 days. If your travels originated in Africa, then the visa to the U.S.A will be denied. Jim from Orland Park Is the Ebola … ]]> Sun, 19 Oct 2014 02:13:44 -0500 http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/30502834-474/speak-out-for-oct-19-2014.html http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/30502834-474/speak-out-for-oct-19-2014.html <![CDATA[ Speak Out for Oct. 17, 2014 ]]> Lead story image

How is it everyone complains of the president overstepping his boundaries and stomping on the Constitution anytime he does something? And now the same people want him to stop all flights to the U.S. from Africa? Do they also know there’s other ways of getting to the U.S. than directly from Africa? In the U.S., 500,000 die each year from smoking, 600,000 die from heart disease, 170,000 die from cancer, 30,000 die from gun violence, 82 die each year from lightning strikes. All the right-wing corporate broadcast media, cable “news” especially, can talk about is Ebola. The U.S. wastes $1 … ]]> Fri, 17 Oct 2014 02:13:10 -0500 http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/30482184-474/speak-out-for-oct-17-2014.html http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/30482184-474/speak-out-for-oct-17-2014.html <![CDATA[ ]]> Lead story image

… ]]> Wed, 15 Oct 2014 18:12:00 -0500 http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/30465105-474/story.html http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/30465105-474/story.html <![CDATA[ Miller: Don’t be surprised by a Rauner ‘tax surprise’ ]]> Lead story image

The most important question asked of Bruce Rauner during the Oct. 9 gubernatorial debate in Peoria was posed by Jamey Dunn-Thomason of Illinois Issues magazine. My pal pointed out that Kansas Gov. Sam Brownback, a Republican, had cut taxes across the board on the theory that it would boost the state’s economy. His idea hasn’t worked. What’s happened instead is a huge revenue shortfall that has forced gigantic state budget cuts and an economy that now lags the rest of the country. So, what did Rauner think of Brownback’s policy? Dunn-Thomason wondered. It has seemed to me over the past … ]]> Thu, 16 Oct 2014 02:20:59 -0500 http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/30452462-452/miller-dont-be-surprised-by-a-rauner-tax-surprise.html http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/30452462-452/miller-dont-be-surprised-by-a-rauner-tax-surprise.html <![CDATA[ Speak Out for Oct. 16, 2014 ]]> Lead story image

I see that the CEO of Facebook will donate $25 million for the Ebola crisis. How much is going to fat-cat executives, and how much for research and health care? I agree that the U.S. has to stop all incoming flights from these countries battling Ebola until the disease is under control. We are just making the problem worse and allowing it to spread all over the world. News agencies only give you a small fraction on the effects and seriousness of the Ebola virus. People really need to research this online. What I fear most is that this virus … ]]> Thu, 16 Oct 2014 02:17:24 -0500 http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/30466077-474/speak-out-for-oct-16-2014.html http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/30466077-474/speak-out-for-oct-16-2014.html