southtownstar.suntimes.com http://southtownstar.suntimes.com Latest news from The Southtown Star Online en-us Wed, 28 Jul 2010 14:10:16 PDT webmaster@suntimes.com http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/csp/cms/sites/STM/assets/img/logos/southtownstar.gif Southtown Star logo http://southtownstar.suntimes.com 84 34 30 Copyright 2014 <![CDATA[ ]]> Lead story image

… ]]> Fri, 19 Sep 2014 19:20:00 -0500 http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/29989578-474/story.html http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/29989578-474/story.html <![CDATA[ Reeder: U.S. economic recovery mostly skips Illinois ]]> Lead story image

For every new job created in Illinois since January 2010, two people have signed up for food stamps. That’s just sad. OK, it’s pathetic. And this is happening during a period that has been labeled as an “economic recovery.” But the fact of the matter is that Illinois has lagged far behind the rest of the country in recovering from the Great Recession. The number of private-sector jobs in the state has dropped by 5,900 since the first of the year. Only Illinois and Alaska among the states has seen a drop in the number of nongovernmental jobs this year. … ]]> Fri, 19 Sep 2014 19:20:27 -0500 http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/29954190-474/reeder-us-economic-recovery-mostly-skips-illinois.html http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/29954190-474/reeder-us-economic-recovery-mostly-skips-illinois.html <![CDATA[ Shaw: Pension crisis hits Cook County suburbs, too ]]> Lead story image

Unless you’ve been living in the Deep Tunnel, you’ve probably heard that the state of Illinois is facing a daunting public employee pension crisis and Chicago schools and city government are tiptoeing around similar fiscal land mines that could blow up in the faces of retirees and taxpayers. Unfortunately, there’s more pension peril that you may not have heard much about, even if you’re following the story. A recent Better Government Association investigation found the tentacles of the pension problem reaching far beyond Springfield and Chicago to suburban Cook County, where underfunded pension funds threaten numerous municipalities. Dozens of pension … ]]> Fri, 19 Sep 2014 19:16:41 -0500 http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/29953631-474/shaw-pension-crisis-hits-cook-county-suburbs-too.html http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/29953631-474/shaw-pension-crisis-hits-cook-county-suburbs-too.html <![CDATA[ Forum: Bury’s leadership lacking ]]>

As an independent business owner and Oak Lawn resident, I was disappointed when Mayor Sandra Bury recently canceled a meeting with residents concerned about the performance of the village’s 911 dispatchers. I do not have the luxury of putting an appointment on my busy calendar to have it canceled at the mayor’s whim. The mayor is quick to lump everyone into one big group, but I am my own person as are many others who have found support in each other over the emergency dispatch issue. I think Mayor Bury has surrounded herself with so many “yes people” that she … ]]> Fri, 19 Sep 2014 19:20:00 -0500 http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/29989598-474/forum-burys-leadership-lacking.html http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/29989598-474/forum-burys-leadership-lacking.html <![CDATA[ Speak Out for Sept. 21, 2014 ]]> Lead story image

An unidentified commenter mentions that he said two years before that Derrick Rose is worthless and has done nothing but collect a fat paycheck — and the season hasn’t even begun. Injuries are part of the game in sports; it might be worthwhile to bite your tongue till the season begins and see how “worthless” D. Rose is. Just maybe the Bulls organization has better insight than you do. Victor from Orland Park It’s absolutely great to see that we are sending troops to Liberia — where? — to fight the battle against the Ebola virus, and we are sending … ]]> Fri, 19 Sep 2014 19:22:48 -0500 http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/29987022-474/speak-out-for-sept-21-2014.html http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/29987022-474/speak-out-for-sept-21-2014.html <![CDATA[ Speak Out for Sept. 19, 2014 ]]> Lead story image

I said over two years ago the Bulls should have let Derrick Rose go. He’s totally finished. He’s not doing one thing. And this is going to be three years that he’s got a fat salary. Time to let him go. Get somebody new. To make millions I would start by controlling labor costs. To control labor costs I would eliminate the minimum wage. In this economy the poor (us) would not be able to afford union dues. Now I could manipulate labor to infighting and further reduce labor costs. If you would only elect me to governor. In regards … ]]> Fri, 19 Sep 2014 02:11:40 -0500 http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/29967000-474/speak-out-for-sept-19-2014.html http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/29967000-474/speak-out-for-sept-19-2014.html <![CDATA[ ]]> Lead story image

… ]]> Wed, 17 Sep 2014 19:32:01 -0500 http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/29949611-474/story.html http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/29949611-474/story.html <![CDATA[ Miller: House Democrats’ early ad blitz aims to bury GOP candidates ]]> Lead story image

The Illinois House Democrats launched their direct mail and TV ad programs weeks earlier than the House Republicans in an attempt to knock the GOP candidates down before they had a chance to stand up. The mail started going out not long after the Illinois State Fair in mid-August. Four years ago, during a national Republican tidal wave, the House Republicans preemptively launched their advertising program in mid-September, catching the Democrats off guard. The Republicans won a few seats they might not have if they had started at the usual time. The Democrats learned a valuable lesson and this year … ]]> Thu, 18 Sep 2014 02:20:07 -0500 http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/29931658-452/miller-house-democrats-early-ad-blitz-aims-to-bury-gop-candidates.html http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/29931658-452/miller-house-democrats-early-ad-blitz-aims-to-bury-gop-candidates.html <![CDATA[ Speak Out for Sept. 18, 2014 ]]> Lead story image

Explain to me why Democrats were in love with and found the wealth of the Roosevelts and Kennedys a nonissue but are outraged regarding the wealth of Romney and Rauner. The latter two earned their fortunes, not inherited them, and have provided thousands of jobs through revitalized companies. In today’s Congress, the Democrats outstrip the Republicans in personal wealth. Desperate candidates will use class war to sucker the ignorant voter. JS from Oak Lawn I had to laugh at a political commercial I saw on TV: 100 years of failure, and Pat Quinn wants four more. Guess what? Wasn’t George … ]]> Thu, 18 Sep 2014 02:15:37 -0500 http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/29952183-474/speak-out-for-sept-18-2014.html http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/29952183-474/speak-out-for-sept-18-2014.html <![CDATA[ Forum: Expand Ice Bucket Challenge beneficiaries ]]>

The person who came up with the Ice Bucket Challenge to raise money for ALS research probably never expected that it would reach the popularity that it has or that it would raise so much money. But now we need a change. I think people should challenge others to take the ice water challenge, but the participant should be able to choose the charity that gets the donation. I won’t even begin to mention all the diseases that need more funds for a cure to be discovered. Right now, the ice water challenge is focused only on ALS, and other … ]]> Thu, 18 Sep 2014 02:20:17 -0500 http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/29949630-474/forum-expand-ice-bucket-challenge-beneficiaries.html http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/29949630-474/forum-expand-ice-bucket-challenge-beneficiaries.html <![CDATA[ Speak Out for Sept. 17, 2014 ]]> Lead story image

Thank you, C from Tinley Park: Being an active CPD, I’ve discovered “pulling over to the ‘right’ for sirens and lights” is a lesson of the past. I’ve had my sirens and emergency blue lights activated, headlights flashing, spotlights in car mirrors, and the motorists, while I’m in the far left lane, stop in front of me. They have pulled to the left on the median. In some cases, they thought they were responding to the same call — they just stayed in front of us. Motorists, pull to the far right safely. We are here to protect your life … ]]> Wed, 17 Sep 2014 02:12:15 -0500 http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/29930365-474/speak-out-for-sept-17-2014.html http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/29930365-474/speak-out-for-sept-17-2014.html <![CDATA[ Speak Out for Sept. 16, 2014 ]]> Lead story image

To the people of Burbank: If you really care about the flooding and power outage situation, I strongly urge you to take the time to vote. Don’t forget about the damage that has been done over and over again and what has not been done about it and whose watch it was on. We can’t afford (literally) to let this go on. After all, why are we paying taxes? If Illinois starts to tax pension income, the pensions of retired government workers will not be the only ones are taxed. Anyone receiving a “qualified” pension will also have to pay … ]]> Tue, 16 Sep 2014 02:09:30 -0500 http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/29911092-474/speak-out-for-sept-16-2014.html http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/29911092-474/speak-out-for-sept-16-2014.html <![CDATA[ Speak Out for Sept. 15, 2014 ]]> Lead story image

The Cubs are raising ticket prices next year. Amazing how people are willing to support a perennial loser. But a lot of visitors want to see Wrigley Field. Tourists have always been fascinated by ancient ruins. Ron in Orland Park To the writer who commented on “Check, Please!” not covering more of the Southland: I am not sure if you were stating a fact or being sarcastic. Yes, we are definitely the forgotten people. Sharon B. from Tinley Park Illinois is broke. It ranks last or near last in all financial measures. It teeters on the brink of bankruptcy — … ]]> Mon, 15 Sep 2014 02:08:01 -0500 http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/29851530-474/speak-out-for-sept-15-2014.html http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/29851530-474/speak-out-for-sept-15-2014.html <![CDATA[ ]]> Lead story image

… ]]> Fri, 12 Sep 2014 21:48:00 -0500 http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/29850611-474/story.html http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/29850611-474/story.html <![CDATA[ Reeder: More accepted to U of I saying ‘no thanks’ ]]> Lead story image

More often than not, when students receive an admission letter from the University of Illinois, they opt to attend another university. That’s a sad state of affairs for Illinois’ flagship university. The U of I is a terrific school. My father graduated from its Urbana-Champaign campus 54 years ago with a degree in veterinary medicine, I received a master’s degree from its Springfield campus in 1988 (when it still was called Sangamon State), and my niece graduated this year from the U of I with a bachelor’s degree. So I value the university and want to see it succeed. But … ]]> Sun, 14 Sep 2014 02:12:42 -0500 http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/29828708-474/reeder-more-accepted-to-u-of-i-saying-no-thanks.html http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/29828708-474/reeder-more-accepted-to-u-of-i-saying-no-thanks.html <![CDATA[ McGrath: The color of privilege, the color of doubt ]]> Lead story image

When I was pulled over by police many years ago on a remote stretch of Illinois 171 at 1 a.m., I was the same age as Michael Brown. Brown was the 18-year-old black teenager shot and killed Aug. 9 by officer Darren Wilson in Ferguson, Missouri, sparking weeks of street protests against Ferguson police. It was on another August night when my 21-year-old brother and I spent time at the Bluefront Lounge near Willow Springs, listening to our favorite country-and-western band. Later, I drove us home in my brother’s 1962 Chevrolet Impala with the convertible top down, while he sang … ]]> Sun, 14 Sep 2014 02:13:04 -0500 http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/29827858-474/mcgrath-the-color-of-privilege-the-color-of-doubt.html http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/29827858-474/mcgrath-the-color-of-privilege-the-color-of-doubt.html