southtownstar.suntimes.com http://southtownstar.suntimes.com Latest news from The Southtown Star Online en-us Wed, 28 Jul 2010 14:10:16 PDT webmaster@suntimes.com http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/csp/cms/sites/STM/assets/img/logos/southtownstar.gif Southtown Star logo http://southtownstar.suntimes.com 84 34 30 Copyright 2014 <![CDATA[ ]]> Lead story image

… ]]> Fri, 26 Sep 2014 20:20:00 -0500 http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/30124747-474/story.html http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/30124747-474/story.html <![CDATA[ Speak Out for Oct. 1, 2014 ]]> Lead story image

Bears vs. Packers, 9/28/14: Thank you Fox TV for showing some questionable football and bad officiating between commercials. Evert E. Kooyman, Oak Lawn Well, people, October is here again, and unless you live in a vacuum, it’s breast cancer awareness month; not that this newspaper will let you forget it. Mark my words, not a day will go by when you won’t see some article about breast cancer or the importance of mammograms. Don’t misunderstand me. I hope that they do find a cure for breast cancer. My biggest pet peeve is that we are bombarded with breast cancer news … ]]> Wed, 01 Oct 2014 02:13:10 -0500 http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/30203051-474/speak-out-for-oct-1-2014.html http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/30203051-474/speak-out-for-oct-1-2014.html <![CDATA[ Speak Out for Sept. 30, 2014 ]]> Lead story image

I’m convinced the federal government wants parents and their children subservient to it for the rest of their lives. The absolutely usurious student loan interest rates, in this current environment, literally are burying people in unretireable debt. The government allows banks to pay virtually nothing to depositors to pad the banks’ bottom lines, but burdens young people with debt that needs to be paid for in an employment scene that the government had a big hand in decimating. To say this is unfair is a gross understatement. Hey, government, how about helping our people for a change rather than accommodating … ]]> Tue, 30 Sep 2014 02:11:37 -0500 http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/30186109-474/speak-out-for-sept-30-2014.html http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/30186109-474/speak-out-for-sept-30-2014.html <![CDATA[ Speak Out for Sept. 29, 2014 ]]> Lead story image

“Honey Boo Boo,” “Total Divas,” “The Vanilla Ice Project” and many more vapid offerings are the equivalent of cotton candy for the brain. A total lack of creative substance is the success formula for capturing today’s viewers. Brainless voyerism sells. This is merely an observation regarding the “dumbing down” of America. The problem I have with Bruce Rauner is that he does not seem to want to discuss any social issues, even if it’s just for a moment. I understand that the focus is primarily on the financial state of this state, but I’d still like to hear his opinion … ]]> Mon, 29 Sep 2014 02:09:34 -0500 http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/30138126-474/speak-out-for-sept-29-2014.html http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/30138126-474/speak-out-for-sept-29-2014.html <![CDATA[ Illinois’ culture of political cronyism alive and well ]]> Lead story image

In Illinois government, it’s often not what you know but who you know that gets you hired or lands you that lucrative contract. It has been that way under Republicans and under Democrats. Jobs and contracts are divvied out after every election like the spoils of war. It is part of Illinois’ culture of “cronyism” that allows the politically connected to prosper at the expense of the rest of us. Cronyism comes in all stripes. It may be a politically connected company getting a handout from the state. Or it could be an unqualified person getting a job just because … ]]> Sun, 28 Sep 2014 02:13:33 -0500 http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/30091906-474/illinois-culture-of-political-cronyism-alive-and-well.html http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/30091906-474/illinois-culture-of-political-cronyism-alive-and-well.html <![CDATA[ Resolving an epidemic of plagiarism ]]> Lead story image

As a former employee of a term paper mill, I usually can tell when someone is attempting to disguise another person’s writing as their own, rather like one of those computer hackers hired by the FBI to help catch other hackers. I’ve long since been reformed, following my youthful stint as a hired pen working in Chicago for Term Paper Research, based in Boston, for which I earned up to $4 a page writing essays for college students. In my defense, it was 1970, and I was only 21. And my boss assured me that the work was as legal … ]]> Sun, 28 Sep 2014 02:14:03 -0500 http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/30092267-474/resolving-an-epidemic-of-plagiarism.html http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/30092267-474/resolving-an-epidemic-of-plagiarism.html <![CDATA[ Forum: Feds’ motives questioned in Warner case ]]>

Federal prosecutors are appealing the sentence given to Beanie Baby boss Ty Warner, wanting him sentenced to prison rather than just probation because that might prevent others from committing the same crime. Maybe so, but it seems to me that would be punishing someone for crimes that someone else may or may not commit. It may be legal, but it just doesn’t seem right. I think this also affects our former and now imprisoned governor, Rod Blagojevich. Edward Levy Homewood NFL also should help  Ray Rice, wife On the Ray Rice video, let’s put aside the finger-pointing about who saw … ]]> Sun, 28 Sep 2014 02:13:52 -0500 http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/30124757-474/forum-feds-motives-questioned-in-warner-case.html http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/30124757-474/forum-feds-motives-questioned-in-warner-case.html <![CDATA[ Speak Out for Sept. 28, 2014 ]]> Lead story image

Now that a new winter looms, how come we still have major potholes everywhere from last winter? The dirty, dark secret that has been going on for years is finally getting the spotlight it deserves, and that is domestic violence. Women stay because some are insecure and others want their children to have a father, while you have some who simply love their man because they constantly tell them, “I would never do it again.” BJ from Hazel Crest The $50,000 fine to Crestwood by the attorney general’s office is a much lower amount than it should be for the … ]]> Sun, 28 Sep 2014 02:13:21 -0500 http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/30126568-474/speak-out-for-sept-28-2014.html http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/30126568-474/speak-out-for-sept-28-2014.html <![CDATA[ Speak Out for Sept. 26, 2014 ]]> Lead story image

I want to thank Sheriff Dart for all he has done for the people and animals of Cook County: from allowing tenants a notification period with foreclosures to holding a puppy rescued from the Dolton Animal Hospital to boosting patrols in areas when needed. You do the county proud. Heather from Crestwood Why was there not more road construction completed during the summer months (when there is less traffic) near Carl Sandburg High School on 131st Street and LaGrange Road? Now you have 4,000 students and faculty, school buses and a big mess. It is a safety hazard for the … ]]> Fri, 26 Sep 2014 02:12:14 -0500 http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/30105987-474/speak-out-for-sept-26-2014.html http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/30105987-474/speak-out-for-sept-26-2014.html <![CDATA[ ]]>

… ]]> Wed, 24 Sep 2014 19:00:01 -0500 http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/30087213-474/story.html http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/30087213-474/story.html <![CDATA[ Rauner campaign is stumbling into the home stretch ]]>

Bruce Rauner reportedly had one of those bugs that were going around last week. I feel his pain. I was sick with one thing or another all week. Luckily, I took a little time off, or I’d probably have felt even worse. Rauner didn’t take any time off, and it showed. For the first time at his news conferences, he read his statements off the page, painfully stumbling over his words. It wasn’t a pretty sight. He and his campaign also seemed grumpier. “Pat Quinn is not the folksy, bumbling fool he’d like us to think he is,” Rauner growled … ]]> Thu, 25 Sep 2014 02:18:32 -0500 http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/30086167-474/rauner-campaign-is-stumbling-into-the-home-stretch.html http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/30086167-474/rauner-campaign-is-stumbling-into-the-home-stretch.html <![CDATA[ Speak Out for Sept. 25, 2014 ]]> Lead story image

Here we are at the end of another baseball season. Cubs in last; Sox not much better. Two more dismal seasons for the greatest sports fans in the country. Isn’t it time to get rid of Robin? How about spending some $$$ for some more good pitchers and hitters? I know all cars, trucks, SUVs, etc., are equipped with turn signals — why don’t people use them? It’s the law. Just because you’re in a turn lane doesn’t mean you don’t have to use them. Tinley Park So the president steps off of Marine One and salutes with a cup … ]]> Thu, 25 Sep 2014 02:13:35 -0500 http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/30087718-474/speak-out-for-sept-25-2014.html http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/30087718-474/speak-out-for-sept-25-2014.html <![CDATA[ Forum: Skeptical of many opinion polls ]]>

Every now and then, I see “man-on-the-street” interviews where random people at a mall or on a busy street are asked simple, basic questions about political issues or matters of American history. These interviews reveal that many people are woefully uninformed. So when I see polls on how the American public feels about a complex issue, I must admit that I am skeptical regarding the value of such information. If many average people cannot identify a picture of the vice president of the United States or provide his name, what are we supposed to think when we encounter the results … ]]> Thu, 25 Sep 2014 02:18:41 -0500 http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/30087218-474/forum-skeptical-of-many-opinion-polls.html http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/30087218-474/forum-skeptical-of-many-opinion-polls.html <![CDATA[ Speak Out for Sept. 24, 2014 ]]> Lead story image

Maybe the NFL should show their players the old Bill Cosby show. Cliff Huxtable is a perfect example of how dads should treat their kids. But then again, this is the real world, not TV. I don’t know anyone who thinks a person who works hard to make a lot of money has done anything wrong. If, however, you are born on third base and think you have hit a home run (Mitt Romney) or if you made tens of millions of dollars and chose to hide your money so as to not pay your fair share of taxes (Bruce … ]]> Wed, 24 Sep 2014 02:13:09 -0500 http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/30067456-474/speak-out-for-sept-24-2014.html http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/30067456-474/speak-out-for-sept-24-2014.html <![CDATA[ Speak Out for Sept. 23, 2014 ]]> Lead story image

Zero tolerance for violence in sports — all sports. A player punches his wife, a fellow teammate an opposing teammate, commits a violent crime, his career is ended. No second chances. The players will step in line very quickly once a few players are made an example of. I saw a player punch an opponent four times for a play he didn’t like and then walk off the field laughing. This has to end, our children are watching. Someone needs to inform former Vice President Dick Cheney that he’s not with the cabinet anymore. To put it bluntly, he lost … ]]> Tue, 23 Sep 2014 02:10:26 -0500 http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/30047823-474/speak-out-for-sept-23-2014.html http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/30047823-474/speak-out-for-sept-23-2014.html <![CDATA[ Speak Out for Sept. 22, 2014 ]]> Lead story image

Everybody’s complaining about Bruce Rauner. Let’s look at the Democrats for instance. They gave us the second-highest property taxes in the country and how does their kingpin Mike Madigan make his living on the side? He helps rich people get their property taxes reduced. Tell me there isn’t a conflict of interest there. No. 2, the Democrats actually had the gall to redraw voting districts so a Republican virtually has no chance of getting elected because of the way they redrew them. And when they tried to stop it, they took it to the courts that were appointed by the … ]]> Mon, 22 Sep 2014 02:07:48 -0500 http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/29989535-474/speak-out-for-sept-22-2014.html http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/29989535-474/speak-out-for-sept-22-2014.html