southtownstar.suntimes.com http://southtownstar.suntimes.com Latest news from The Southtown Star Online en-us Wed, 28 Jul 2010 14:10:16 PDT webmaster@suntimes.com http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/csp/cms/sites/STM/assets/img/logos/southtownstar.gif Southtown Star logo http://southtownstar.suntimes.com 84 34 30 Copyright 2014 <![CDATA[ ]]> Lead story image

… ]]> Fri, 29 Aug 2014 19:34:00 -0500 http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/29564150-474/story.html http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/29564150-474/story.html <![CDATA[ Speak Out for Aug. 31, 2014 ]]> Lead story image

I just visited a friend in Beecher. Oak Forest’s gas prices were $3.50 per (gallon). Beecher’s were $3.29 per. Just another advantage of living in Crook County and continuing to vote “Democratic.” Bob from Oak Forest If it’s every Republican’s job to find and use tax loopholes, is it not their job to create and enforce more loopholes when elected into office? Not just for taxes but to enforce the two-class society — them and us. Rich and poor. Canadian companies vs. ? In God We Trust. Ken Thanks to the Women’s Auxiliary of VFW Post 2791 for more than … ]]> Fri, 29 Aug 2014 23:14:30 -0500 http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/29561409-474/speak-out-for-aug-31-2014.html http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/29561409-474/speak-out-for-aug-31-2014.html <![CDATA[ Forum: Make medical pot easily accessible ]]>

You would think that medical marijuana was contagious to hear Chicago aldermen talk about an appropriate zoning district for the location of its dispensaries. Instead of thinking so hard about where medical marijuana should not be available, aldermen should swallow hard, forget the foolish historic prohibition of marijuana and allow medical marijuana to be sold anywhere that other medicines are sold. Sick people are not benefited by making it inconvenient, if not difficult, to visit a business that will sell a substance that helps people suffering from cancer, chemotherapy, AIDS and other serious illnesses. After all, Mother Nature allows marijuana … ]]> Fri, 29 Aug 2014 19:34:00 -0500 http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/29565878-474/forum-make-medical-pot-easily-accessible.html http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/29565878-474/forum-make-medical-pot-easily-accessible.html <![CDATA[ Harris v. Quinn: Is it setback or boost for labor? ]]> Lead story image

When the U.S. Supreme Court this summer weakened labor protections for about 26,000 home-care providers in Illinois, most analysts characterized the decision as a dire portent for unions representing low-wage workers. So here’s what happened next — the day after the ruling in Harris v. Quinn, those thousands of workers began earning the latest in a series of wage increases that the Service Employees International Union collectively bargained for on their behalf. Just like the wages they fought so hard to increase during the past 30 years — wages that were once an unconscionable $1 an hour — these home-care … ]]> Fri, 29 Aug 2014 19:30:00 -0500 http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/29540814-474/harris-v-quinn-is-it-setback-or-boost-for-labor.html http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/29540814-474/harris-v-quinn-is-it-setback-or-boost-for-labor.html <![CDATA[ ]]> Lead story image

… ]]> Fri, 22 Aug 2014 18:52:00 -0500 http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/29421522-474/story.html http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/29421522-474/story.html <![CDATA[ Speak Out for Aug. 29, 2014 ]]> Lead story image

Thank you, SouthtownStar, for printing the article regarding Frankfort Village vs. the Township on mowing Route 30’s median; not to say your article had anything to do with them finally agreeing and mowing the grass now that summer is coming to an end. Job well done to all. Parents, posting your foul-mouthed children on TV and Facebook is not funny. Gone are the days when children were disciplined for swearing and dropping “F” bombs. I see by reading this paper that the ALS foundation now has collected over a million dollars for research. I only hope this is for research, … ]]> Fri, 29 Aug 2014 02:14:44 -0500 http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/29540735-474/speak-out-for-aug-29-2014.html http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/29540735-474/speak-out-for-aug-29-2014.html <![CDATA[ Speak Out for Aug. 28, 2014 ]]> Lead story image

Way to go, Burger King. The government has allowed my job to go out of the country, and now its policy is backfiring. Or is its policy backfiring on the American public? Blame your government, not Burger King. Yes, (Bruce) Rauner is a legal tax evader, and yes, boycott Burger King. Money talks. Just ask Rauner. I am so sick of hearing about Rauner’s $53 million — everyone knows he’s a wealthy man. I want to know what Gov. (Pat) Quinn’s plans are for getting Illinois out of this mess it’s in. Is he going to decrease the state income … ]]> Thu, 28 Aug 2014 16:22:59 -0500 http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/29521571-474/speak-out-for-aug-28-2014.html http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/29521571-474/speak-out-for-aug-28-2014.html <![CDATA[ Miller: Dems hope minimum-wage measure boosts turnout ]]> Lead story image

Some recent Chicago Tribune poll results appear to indicate that support for raising the minimum wage in Chicago may be enough to increase voter turnout for a non-binding Nov. 4 referendum. The poll found that 84 percent of registered Chicago voters support a city task force recommendation to increase the minimum wage to $13 per hour over the next three years. The results show that 78 percent of whites, 92 percent of blacks and even 71 percent of Chicagoans earning more than $100,000 a year backed the plan. Democrats are hoping to use the statewide referendum on raising the minimum … ]]> Thu, 28 Aug 2014 02:23:36 -0500 http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/29505605-460/miller-dems-hope-minimum-wage-measure-boosts-turnout.html http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/29505605-460/miller-dems-hope-minimum-wage-measure-boosts-turnout.html <![CDATA[ Speak Out for Aug. 27, 2014 ]]> Lead story image

Walgreens does the right thing, perhaps under public/social media pressure, and decides to remain an American company and pay its fair share of taxes. Its stock drops precipitously. Burger King is in talks to become a Canadian company to avoid paying U.S. taxes, all the while paying its front-line workers minimum wage and counting on you and me to subsidize their pay with food stamps and Medicaid. Its stock shoots up nearly 20 percent. Way to go, Wall Street, after America bails you out you hand us our head on a plate. That’s good old American capitalism for ya. The … ]]> Wed, 27 Aug 2014 02:13:16 -0500 http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/29501318-474/speak-out-for-aug-27-2014.html http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/29501318-474/speak-out-for-aug-27-2014.html <![CDATA[ Speak Out for Aug. 26, 2014 ]]> Lead story image

Kudos to columnist Phil Kadner for his article on Sunday: “The kids of summer in a World Series.” It was very moving, made both my husband and I cry, and very on point. These kids have heart. And there is no shame in crying. And there is no shame in telling an opposing teammate job well done. To further his point, my husband and I watch very few pro sports. We watch college because they are not highly paid players but kids who want to play. They work hard. Most don’t believe they’ll go pro. They, like the JRW team, … ]]> Tue, 26 Aug 2014 02:11:57 -0500 http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/29485464-474/speak-out-for-aug-26-2014.html http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/29485464-474/speak-out-for-aug-26-2014.html <![CDATA[ Speak Out for Aug. 25, 2014 ]]> Lead story image

The new Meijer in Homer Glen is very nice. I see the dress code appears to be T-shirts with no sleeves and flip flops Since Bruce Rauner is having so much difficulty getting term limits on the November ballot, it must mean that Speaker Madigan can own the judges too. Oak Lawn As a kid, if you had loving parents, you occasionally had to be disciplined for your own good. Today, many didn’t get disciplined as kids, thus they are undisciplined as adults. It seems that conservatism, which espouses concepts like obeying the law, showing respect for the sacrifices of … ]]> Mon, 25 Aug 2014 02:11:22 -0500 http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/29426068-474/speak-out-for-aug-25-2014.html http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/29426068-474/speak-out-for-aug-25-2014.html <![CDATA[ Speak Out for Aug. 24, 2014 ]]> Lead story image

Our servicemen have given their lives and limbs to preserve our elections — it’s the candidates who are the problem. By the way, campaign ads are charged at the lowest equal rate by law. Thank you, Gordon Beckham, for your time with the White Sox. Second base won’t be the same. Good luck with the L.A. Angels. Illinois passed a law that allows us to keep our driver’s licenses in the event of a traffic stop for a minor infraction. We now join all the rest of the states who already have this in force. It is so important today … ]]> Sun, 24 Aug 2014 02:13:29 -0500 http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/29425185-474/speak-out-for-aug-24-2014.html http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/29425185-474/speak-out-for-aug-24-2014.html <![CDATA[ Reeder: Parents deserve greater educational choice ]]> Lead story image

I was chatting the other day with a fellow who, along with his wife, home-schools his children. He explained the benefits that he believes his youngsters have derived from being taught at home — a customized curriculum, religious values instilled and extra time with parents. “One of the great things about home-schooling is that I haven’t been hassled by anyone in government over how we choose to educate our kids,” he said. Of course, home-schooling isn’t for everyone. But it is a wonderful option. There are other good choices out there, too — parochial schools, private secular schools, public schools, … ]]> Sun, 24 Aug 2014 02:13:50 -0500 http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/29382384-474/reeder-parents-deserve-greater-educational-choice.html http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/29382384-474/reeder-parents-deserve-greater-educational-choice.html <![CDATA[ ]]> Lead story image

… ]]> Wed, 20 Aug 2014 20:36:00 -0500 http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/29380460-474/story.html http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/29380460-474/story.html <![CDATA[ Speak Out for Aug. 22, 2014 ]]> Lead story image

I’ve got an idea: Why don’t we stop spending, and then we won’t have a deficit to cover by going into debt? Homer Glen To the Burbank commenter griping about the ice bucket challenge: Do you realize this has brought out adults and kids to come together for the ALS foundation plus make loads of money for research for the disease? Something positive in this world is a nice change. Keep the challenge going. Linda from Monee To the writer from Burbank about the “stunt,” the Ice Bucket Challenge for ALS, aka Lou Gehrig’s Disease: As of Monday, the ALS … ]]> Fri, 22 Aug 2014 02:27:42 -0500 http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/29401264-474/speak-out-for-aug-22-2014.html http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/29401264-474/speak-out-for-aug-22-2014.html <![CDATA[ Miller: Edgar support may aid Rauner with independents ]]> Lead story image

I’m not sure why, but the surprise appearance by former Gov. Jim Edgar at the Illinois State Fair’s Republican Day didn’t generate much media coverage. Despite the fact that Edgar is a Republican, this was not an easy “get” for gubernatorial nominee Bruce Rauner. I’m told it took weeks of careful wooing and negotiations through one of Edgar’s old cronies. Edgar backed state Sen. Kirk Dillard, of Hinsdale, in the GOP primary election against Rauner and has expressed public and private concerns about how Rauner is portraying himself on the stump and about how that confrontational attitude could manifest itself … ]]> Thu, 21 Aug 2014 02:13:05 -0500 http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/29363185-452/miller-edgar-support-may-aid-rauner-with-independents.html http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/29363185-452/miller-edgar-support-may-aid-rauner-with-independents.html