southtownstar.suntimes.com http://southtownstar.suntimes.com Latest news from The Southtown Star Online en-us Wed, 28 Jul 2010 14:10:16 PDT webmaster@suntimes.com http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/csp/cms/sites/STM/assets/img/logos/southtownstar.gif Southtown Star logo http://southtownstar.suntimes.com 84 34 30 Copyright 2014 <![CDATA[ ]]> Lead story image

… ]]> Fri, 01 Aug 2014 20:16:00 -0500 http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/29002464-474/story.html http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/29002464-474/story.html <![CDATA[ Reeder: Lower tax rates would keep U.S. corporations home ]]> Lead story image

I picked up my vacation photos at Walgreens the other day. And I didn’t hear any French, German or Italian spoken. How surprising. I’ve read that the huge drugstore chain is considering becoming a Swiss corporation. I’ll admit the thought of a company that essentially is an American icon becoming a foreign corporation gives me pause. After all, Walgreen Co. is one of Illinois’ premier companies. It was founded here in 1901 and is headquartered in Deerfield. And now company executives are talking about moving their headquarters to Switzerland to take advantage of a much lower corporate tax rate. But … ]]> Fri, 01 Aug 2014 20:16:00 -0500 http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/28986201-474/reeder-lower-tax-rates-would-keep-us-corporations-home.html http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/28986201-474/reeder-lower-tax-rates-would-keep-us-corporations-home.html <![CDATA[ Shaw: Doomsday clock ticks for Illinois ]]> Lead story image

Remember the ominous “doomsday clock” with its symbolic “countdown” to nuclear war? The concept dates back to University of Chicago researchers whose work during World War II led to development of the first atomic bomb. After the war, a distinguished group of international scientists continued the risk analysis by calculating looming dangers once a year and dramatizing their calibration by moving the clock’s ticking minute hand to a predetermined time uncomfortably close to midnight, or “doomsday,” and all that implies. The clock setting varies year to year — it’s five minutes to midnight in 2014, which is worrisome but fortunately … ]]> Fri, 01 Aug 2014 20:16:00 -0500 http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/28967940-474/shaw-doomsday-clock-ticks-for-illinois.html http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/28967940-474/shaw-doomsday-clock-ticks-for-illinois.html <![CDATA[ Forum: Homer Glen mayor rushing on Woodbine ]]>

In a recent SouthtownStar article, Homer Glen’s mayor criticized village trustees, and specifically me, for our support for keeping Woodbine Golf Course open for another year to allow the village more time to plan for the public park and new village hall that will be established there. The mayor was quoted as saying, “They do not want to see something great happen on my watch.” The mayor has resisted making the future use of Woodbine an open, public discussion. We owe it to residents to include everyone in the planning. As for extending the golf course lease for a year, … ]]> Fri, 01 Aug 2014 20:16:00 -0500 http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/29002477-474/forum-homer-glen-mayor-rushing-on-woodbine.html http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/29002477-474/forum-homer-glen-mayor-rushing-on-woodbine.html <![CDATA[ Speak Out for Aug. 3, 2014 ]]> Lead story image

Who needs to go to Chicago unless you work there? Crime, traffic, high parking rates, overpriced restaurants, etc. Except for Navy Pier, the museums and the Sox, Bears, Hawks and Bulls, I’ll stay in Orland, thank you. It’s not nirvana, but it has everything you could ask for within a few miles, and it’s reasonably safe. People of color: In November, please expose the Republican Party for its misguided efforts to sue the president and its complete arrogance and ignorance. Has everyone forgotten he is a constitutional lawyer and former professor at the University of Chicago? Remind the Republicans that … ]]> Fri, 01 Aug 2014 22:09:42 -0500 http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/29001100-474/speak-out-for-aug-3-2014.html http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/29001100-474/speak-out-for-aug-3-2014.html <![CDATA[ Speak Out for Aug. 1, 2014 ]]> Lead story image

I returned to the area after two years, and I was pleased to see Mr. Kadner still writes for the SouthtownStar. He’s a gem! He’s a real journalist. Thank you. Tommy from Tinley Park To Nicole Echlin, of Homewood, whose dog was recently shot  and killed by the police. You  want to file a possible lawsuit now? Isn’t getting the man who did this horrible deed off the police force good enough? Or do you think you need taxpayers’ money to make you feel better. I’m sorry for your loss, but there is no need for a lawsuit. Justice has … ]]> Fri, 01 Aug 2014 02:12:04 -0500 http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/28969166-474/speak-out-for-aug-1-2014.html http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/28969166-474/speak-out-for-aug-1-2014.html <![CDATA[ ]]> Lead story image

… ]]> Wed, 30 Jul 2014 20:00:00 -0500 http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/28962759-474/story.html http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/28962759-474/story.html <![CDATA[ Miller: Frerichs keeps stumbling in treasurer race ]]>

In January, state Sen. Michael Frerichs formally kicked off his campaign for state treasurer and posted a video online touting the fact the he had ended “free, lifetime health care for state legislators.” Actually, Frerichs voted against that bill in the General Assembly. His campaign had to pull the video and replace it with a new one, even though he had been planning his formal campaign launch for at least a year. In April, Frerichs, D-Champaign, appeared to flip-flop on his long-standing position that the comptroller’s and treasurer’s offices should be merged. “People have said to me,” Frerichs told a … ]]> Thu, 31 Jul 2014 02:15:11 -0500 http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/28947083-452/miller-frerichs-keeps-stumbling-in-treasurer-race.html http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/28947083-452/miller-frerichs-keeps-stumbling-in-treasurer-race.html <![CDATA[ Speak Out for July 31, 2014 ]]> Lead story image

I love Phil Kadner’s column on inversion (“It’s an inversion for working folks,” July 29). What strikes me as the most important message in this piece is the mention of balance. Balance is a condition in which different elements are equal or in the correct proportions. I know there are differing ideas on “correct proportions,” but too often we the people, our government and the media lose touch with fairness, justice and the thought of “just do the right thing.” Sitting on your hands, doing nothing, blaming others is not the right thing. MJ from Worth Not that a few … ]]> Thu, 31 Jul 2014 02:11:21 -0500 http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/28962460-474/speak-out-for-july-31-2014.html http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/28962460-474/speak-out-for-july-31-2014.html <![CDATA[ Forum: Lewis not the answer ]]>

A Karen Lewis run for mayor would the biggest mistake since the Chicago fire. She has no knowledge how to run a government office. She’s a teacher and union leader who can hardly handle those jobs, so forget this idea. Let Rahm Emanuel finish cleaning up the mess that was left him, which didn’t happen overnight. Lonnie Mendoza Calumet City Obama the buck passer Recently, President Barack Obama made a one-day trip to Minnesota to give one of his standard speeches where he blames everyone else but himself for all the woes he’s facing back in Washington, D.C. He said … ]]> Thu, 31 Jul 2014 02:15:20 -0500 http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/28962783-474/forum-lewis-not-the-answer.html http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/28962783-474/forum-lewis-not-the-answer.html <![CDATA[ Speak Out for July 30, 2014 ]]> Lead story image

Kudos, blessings and applause to Scott Fiala who continues to work for a cure to Lou Gehrig’s disease. I happened to see him at the Dollar Tree in Oak Lawn this past Tuesday. I wish him strength in his continuing efforts to raise funds to find a cure. MZL from Burbank I was just wondering if Canada is working on a plan to take in all the children from Chicago’s neighborhoods who will walk to the Canadian border to try to get away from the gangs and guns in Chicago. Jim from Evergreen Park Brian from Alsip: The president is … ]]> Wed, 30 Jul 2014 02:12:21 -0500 http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/28943861-474/speak-out-for-july-30-2014.html http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/28943861-474/speak-out-for-july-30-2014.html <![CDATA[ Speak Out for July 29, 2014 ]]> Lead story image

On July 27, 1953, the unpopular Korean War ended. To say veterans who fought in that war and made it home in one piece were happy would be an understatement. I made it home in one piece after spending almost two years in a North Korean POW camp, and I thank God for that. Ray from Palos Heights Mayor Rahm wants to take in, house, care for, educate and give medical care for another 1,000 illegals. When is this going to stop? I wonder why the city, the county, the state, and the country is broke and in debt. Where’s … ]]> Tue, 29 Jul 2014 02:09:52 -0500 http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/28925767-474/speak-out-for-july-29-2014.html http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/28925767-474/speak-out-for-july-29-2014.html <![CDATA[ Speak Out for July 28, 2014 ]]> Lead story image

In the SouthtownStar article “Golf at Woodbine appears over,” Homer Glen Mayor Jim Daley states: “This is all politics. Yukich is stirring the pot. They do not want to see something great happen on my watch.” Mr. Mayor, I for one am glad he’s questioning what you want. After attending the last four village meetings not once have I heard how you are going to pay for this park/sports complex. Closing Woodbine, you lose over $100,000 in property and sales tax, and not one thing said by you on how you’re going to make up for the lost revenue. T.P. … ]]> Mon, 28 Jul 2014 02:09:56 -0500 http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/28865222-474/speak-out-for-july-28-2014.html http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/28865222-474/speak-out-for-july-28-2014.html <![CDATA[ ]]> Lead story image

… ]]> Fri, 25 Jul 2014 21:46:00 -0500 http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/28869234-474/story.html http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/28869234-474/story.html <![CDATA[ Shaw: More suburban FDs imposing ‘crash tax’ ]]> Lead story image

One of our jobs at the Better Government Association is to look for warning signs that suggest that trouble may be on the way. And with that in mind, I point to a recent BGA investigation that sounds the alarm at a number of Chicago-area fire departments but not because there’s an actual blaze. This alert is sparked by a growing and potentially troubling trend in emergency service that requires victims of traffic accidents to help fill municipal budget holes. It’s known as a “crash tax,” and it’s quietly showing up in more communities as fire departments struggle to make … ]]> Sun, 27 Jul 2014 02:13:04 -0500 http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/28848300-474/shaw-more-suburban-fds-imposing-crash-tax.html http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/28848300-474/shaw-more-suburban-fds-imposing-crash-tax.html <![CDATA[ McGrath: Confronting a different kind of tyrant ]]> Lead story image

When I attended Chicago State University on the South Side in the late 1960s, I opted to take my daily lunch break off campus. There were no in-house McDonald’s or Subways as there are at many colleges today. And while I’ll grant that the school cafeteria offered nourishing fare, it did not, however, have a palatable cheeseburger, which was my primary fuel source at the time. Their beef patties tasted oddly similar to the chemically preserved hamburger disks wrapped in plastic and sold in vending machines. So as soon as my morning classes were over, I’d put on my stocking … ]]> Sun, 27 Jul 2014 02:13:40 -0500 http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/28854399-474/mcgrath-confronting-a-different-kind-of-tyrant.html http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/28854399-474/mcgrath-confronting-a-different-kind-of-tyrant.html