southtownstar.suntimes.com http://southtownstar.suntimes.com Latest news from The Southtown Star Online en-us Wed, 28 Jul 2010 14:10:16 PDT webmaster@suntimes.com http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/csp/cms/sites/STM/assets/img/logos/southtownstar.gif Southtown Star logo http://southtownstar.suntimes.com 84 34 30 Copyright 2014 <![CDATA[ ]]> Lead story image

… ]]> Wed, 29 Oct 2014 21:52:40 -0500 http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/30734001-474/story.html http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/30734001-474/story.html <![CDATA[ Speak Out for Oct. 30, 2014 ]]> Lead story image

For the past several years Phil Kadner has criticized the state of Illinois for neglecting the south suburbs. So why is he endorsing Quinn? Perhaps this is a perfect example of why nothing ever changes. On the other hand, the incumbents do provide plenty of stories to report on. Tinley Park I remember a time when professional football players behaved like mature men and not like a bunch of “hey look at me” dancing clowns for doing the job they get paid for. Just as sadly, people cheer for them. Burbank We do not need more people voting, but we … ]]> Thu, 30 Oct 2014 02:11:50 -0500 http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/30731018-474/speak-out-for-oct-30-2014.html http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/30731018-474/speak-out-for-oct-30-2014.html <![CDATA[ Forum ]]>

Turned off by Rauner During the debates in the Illinois governor’s election, multimillionaire venture capitalist Bruce Rauner criticized Gov. Pat Quinn for not creating more Illinois jobs. All the while, Rauner conveniently and purposely omitted how many factories he personally shut down through his firm, shipping many thousands of jobs overseas, including many in Illinois. During his campaign, Rauner is always changing the subject, avoiding details on how he would solve the state’s problems and engaging in personal attacks rather than manning up and answering the questions posed by journalists. Bob Pritchard Homer Glen Good riddance to Holder U.S. Attorney … ]]> Thu, 30 Oct 2014 02:12:13 -0500 http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/30732567-474/forum.html http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/30732567-474/forum.html <![CDATA[ Speak Out for Oct. 29, 2014 ]]> Lead story image

Look, 183rd and Oak Park is the perfect place to try out (underline try out) a traffic circle. Lots of room and no traffic light for a half-mile, contrary to what someone else said in Speak Out. I’m not in favor of it, but let’s give it a try before going hog wild with three more on 175th Street. Circles are not common here, but they are out east. It will be a learning curve for all the drivers to get used to it, so be patient. However, mayor, there is no room for a circle at 94th or 84th … ]]> Wed, 29 Oct 2014 02:13:40 -0500 http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/30709961-474/speak-out-for-oct-29-2014.html http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/30709961-474/speak-out-for-oct-29-2014.html <![CDATA[ Speak Out for Oct. 28, 2014 ]]> Lead story image

Tinley Park does not belong in the real estate business. Look what happened in Oak Forest, which did the same. Bring on term limits. James P. from Tinley Park Adele: The reason (Jay) Cutler gets paid so much money is very simple. The Bears like to waste money. Philip from Oak Lawn Don’t bother to buy a turkey for Thanksgiving — just watch the Bears. I can see where Illinois politicians and Chicago football players are a lot alike. They both get paid for doing nothing. I have not missed watching a Bears game since I don’t know when. I … ]]> Tue, 28 Oct 2014 02:12:36 -0500 http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/30690760-474/speak-out-for-oct-28-2014.html http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/30690760-474/speak-out-for-oct-28-2014.html <![CDATA[ Speak Out for Oct. 27, 2014 ]]> Lead story image

Why did the Bears give Cutler a seven-year, $126.7 million contract? Adele I wonder if Bruce Rauner would swear under oath that he didn’t tell the head of a major local union that if they weren’t with him, he would “bury” them? Interesting turn of the phrase, knowing just a little bit more and more of this self-described “1 percenter” sounds like a typical bully to me. Your way or the highway, huh, Bruce? MGB Chicago The former mayor of Blue Island John Hart was a very frugal man. He kept his city in the black for many years. Too … ]]> Mon, 27 Oct 2014 11:27:37 -0500 http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/30667445-474/speak-out-for-oct-27-2014.html http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/30667445-474/speak-out-for-oct-27-2014.html <![CDATA[ ]]> Lead story image

… ]]> Fri, 24 Oct 2014 18:50:01 -0500 http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/30633171-474/story.html http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/30633171-474/story.html <![CDATA[ Reeder: Illinois Democrats’ latest ploy — no ID needed for early voting ]]> Lead story image

I dropped by my local courthouse last Monday and voted early. Before stepping into the county clerk’s office, armed sheriff’s police had me empty my pockets and step through a metal detector. After I entered the Sangamon County clerk’s office, a cheerful worker told me I didn’t need any identification to vote early this year. Hmmm, they don’t trust the public to enter a public building unarmed, but when it comes to voting they’ll take anyone’s word at face value. This year, and for the Nov. 4 election only, the Illinois General Assembly has suspended safeguards the state has in … ]]> Sun, 26 Oct 2014 02:11:56 -0500 http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/30614594-474/reeder-illinois-democrats-latest-ploy-no-id-needed-for-early-voting.html http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/30614594-474/reeder-illinois-democrats-latest-ploy-no-id-needed-for-early-voting.html <![CDATA[ What’s with our fascination with celebrities? ]]> Lead story image

The first celebrity I ever encountered in person was Nellie Fox, the Hall of Fame second baseman for the pennant-winning Chicago White Sox of 1959. I was 11 when my father took our family of 10 to the Back of the Yards Carnival one warm summer night. On the way in, my old man pointed out a group of nicely dressed men at 47th Street and Damen Avenue, gathered around a shiny car whose dome light was on. Seated inside were the All-Star second baseman and Mrs. Fox, talking through the open window to the others. I rushed up to … ]]> Sun, 26 Oct 2014 02:12:30 -0500 http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/30614367-474/whats-with-our-fascination-with-celebrities.html http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/30614367-474/whats-with-our-fascination-with-celebrities.html <![CDATA[ Forum: No such thing as ‘values neutral’ ]]>

I read a phrase recently that I hadn’t come across in a while — “values neutral.” Its basic idea is that we can operate an organization without favoring any particular values. Then I read an article that expressed a similar sentiment, using the phrase “within the neutral zone of public school.” I understand that schools and other organizations have people from different backgrounds, embracing diverse worldviews, and that if a particular ideological, cultural or religious position were endorsed to the exclusion of other belief systems it could quickly become unfair and contentious. However, for any organization to say it’s values … ]]> Sun, 26 Oct 2014 02:12:18 -0500 http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/30633178-474/forum-no-such-thing-as-values-neutral.html http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/30633178-474/forum-no-such-thing-as-values-neutral.html <![CDATA[ Speak Out for Oct. 26, 2014 ]]> Lead story image

Everyone wants to know what will become of the land from the Tinley Park Mental Health Center. Only Mike Madigan and Ed Zabrocki know for sure. It will certainly wind up in the hands of the friends of Pat Quinn, Mike Madigan or John Cullerton, with appropriate finder’s fees for Mike and Ed. Tinley Park I would like to see the land on which the Tinley mental hospital stands turned into a partly commercial or light manufacturing complex but a large majority set aside for nature and parks. It would be a perfect place for soccer tournaments and baseball fields. … ]]> Sun, 26 Oct 2014 02:11:43 -0500 http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/30634807-474/speak-out-for-oct-26-2014.html http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/30634807-474/speak-out-for-oct-26-2014.html <![CDATA[ Speak Out for Oct. 24, 2014 ]]> Lead story image

Kudos to Brian Urlacher, who said Jay Cutler is an elite quarterback in pay only. Rick from Evergreen Park It is hard to believe that someone is blaming the Democrats for the historically high wealth gap that exists today between the top 1 percent and everyone else. This wealth gap has been in the making since the 1980s when Reagan implemented his “voodoo economics” better known as “trickle-down.” The idea that tax cuts for the wealthy will eventually trickle down to everyone else is ridiculous. Not to mention our corrupt political system that allows money to influence our laws. The … ]]> Fri, 24 Oct 2014 03:38:36 -0500 http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/30609023-474/speak-out-for-oct-24-2014.html http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/30609023-474/speak-out-for-oct-24-2014.html <![CDATA[ ]]> Lead story image

… ]]> Wed, 22 Oct 2014 20:26:00 -0500 http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/30593493-474/story.html http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/30593493-474/story.html <![CDATA[ Operating Engineers Local 150 helps Grimm to help Quinn ]]> Lead story image

I wasn’t hugely surprised when Local 150 of the International Union of Operating Engineers contributed $30,000 this month to Chad Grimm, the Illinois Libertarian Party’s candidate for governor. After all, Local 150’s president, Jim Sweeney, was out in front of the push to beat Bruce Rauner during the Republican primary election in March. After a stormy meeting with Rauner, who’s running on a pledge to allow local areas to opt in to a “right to work” law, Sweeney demanded that organized labor stop Rauner in his tracks. The law would give workers the right to not join the unions that … ]]> Thu, 23 Oct 2014 04:49:30 -0500 http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/30592354-474/operating-engineers-local-150-helps-grimm-to-help-quinn.html http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/30592354-474/operating-engineers-local-150-helps-grimm-to-help-quinn.html <![CDATA[ Speak Out for Oct. 23, 2014 ]]> Lead story image

Have you noticed when President Obama’s leadership rating fell to a new low? You don’t see Michelle and their children by his side voting like before. Scotty and Tony from Oak Lawn I see that someone thinks we should be celebrating Obamacare because it does not appear to be as bad as almost everyone said it will be. The reason is because almost none of it has been implemented yet. Obama and the Dems keep pushing more and more of it out until after the 2014 elections. I wonder what they are afraid of? Your paper reported that the state … ]]> Thu, 23 Oct 2014 04:45:21 -0500 http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/30594590-474/speak-out-for-oct-23-2014.html http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/30594590-474/speak-out-for-oct-23-2014.html <![CDATA[ Forum: It doesn’t make sense ]]>

Let me see if I have this right. President Barack Obama wants $3.7 billion for illegal aliens in the border crisis. We send millions and millions in foreign aid to God-knows-how-many countries around the world every year. We police the world, yet we do not have money to rebuild crumbling schools and infrastructure and cannot get it together to provide an excellent health care system to take care of our citizens. We are supposed to be a nation of laws, yet those in charge routinely ignore and manipulate them. The worst of it is that the people re-elect most of … ]]> Thu, 23 Oct 2014 04:49:51 -0500 http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/30593500-474/forum-it-doesnt-make-sense.html http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/30593500-474/forum-it-doesnt-make-sense.html