southtownstar.suntimes.com http://southtownstar.suntimes.com Latest news from The Southtown Star Online en-us Wed, 28 Jul 2010 14:10:16 PDT webmaster@suntimes.com http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/csp/cms/sites/STM/assets/img/logos/southtownstar.gif Southtown Star logo http://southtownstar.suntimes.com 84 34 30 Copyright 2014 <![CDATA[ ]]> Lead story image

… ]]> Fri, 18 Jul 2014 20:16:01 -0500 http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/28735213-474/story.html http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/28735213-474/story.html <![CDATA[ Speak Out for July 23, 2014 ]]> Lead story image

Go online or call on all your bank accounts, IRAs, 401(k)s, annuities and other accounts and check to see if there is a beneficiary and/or POD listed. My wife and I checked ours, and two accounts had no one listed at all even though the 401(k)s were over 15 years old and we clearly indicated each other as beneficiaries on the original paperwork. Don’t assume anything. Big companies really don’t care once they get your money. Someone was too lazy to fill in the beneficiaries when the accounts were established. I don’t know about the rest  of you, but I … ]]> Tue, 22 Jul 2014 20:23:37 -0500 http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/28810707-474/speak-out-for-july-23-2014.html http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/28810707-474/speak-out-for-july-23-2014.html <![CDATA[ Speak Out for July 22, 2014 ]]> Lead story image

To the people who are worrying about CTU President Karen Lewis running for mayor (of Chicago), don’t. She would have to face a lot of the problems she created, rather that just blame someone else. I’ll take any bets that she will come up with an excuse not to run. Midlothian When applying for the position of Chicago firefighter, you get preference if you are a CPS graduate. Can anyone explain that reasoning? Burbank people: We all need to bond together to try to keep our once-beautiful city from crumbling around us. The last couple of years the businesses, parks … ]]> Tue, 22 Jul 2014 02:10:49 -0500 http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/28793021-474/speak-out-for-july-22-2014.html http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/28793021-474/speak-out-for-july-22-2014.html <![CDATA[ Speak Out for July 21, 2014 ]]> Lead story image

To the person who challenged anyone to name one accomplishment of President Obama: How about the demise of Osama Bin Laden, who is responsible for the deaths of thousands of Americans? On a personal note, I have an artificial heart valve. Without the Obama-sponsored Affordable Care Act, I would not be eligible for insurance due to a pre-existing condition. Thank you for your perseverance, President Obama. Thornton To the person who can’t name one accomplishment of President Obama: You haven’t looked into it, or you’re repeating what you’ve heard on Fox News. How did we become trillions of dollars in … ]]> Mon, 21 Jul 2014 02:08:49 -0500 http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/28734578-474/speak-out-for-july-21-2014.html http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/28734578-474/speak-out-for-july-21-2014.html <![CDATA[ Reeder: Quinn veto on FOIA measure good move ]]> Lead story image

Kudos to Gov. Pat Quinn. The governor vetoed a measure that greatly would restrict an ordinary citizen’s ability to file Freedom of Information Act requests. I don’t agree with the governor on a lot of things, but this veto was the proper response to a very bad bill that would have charged ordinary citizens fees as great as $100 if they file a request for large documents or make multiple requests in a short period of time. Sometimes government officials forget just who they work for. The FOIA is a powerful tool. During the course of my journalism career, I … ]]> Sun, 20 Jul 2014 02:12:49 -0500 http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/28735035-474/reeder-quinn-veto-on-foia-measure-good-move.html http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/28735035-474/reeder-quinn-veto-on-foia-measure-good-move.html <![CDATA[ Laurie Samuels: Don’t let retirement make you vulnerable to senior scams ]]> Lead story image

Fraud is one of the fasting growing crimes in America — with senior citizens being common targets. In fact, the U.S. Office of Consumer Affairs attributes approximately $100 billion a year to fraud. In this age of information, anyone in possession of a credit card, bank account or Social Security number is susceptible to the misuse of their private information. Although all are vulnerable to fraud, this article gives special attention to protecting our senior citizens from predatory crime. According to the FBI, scam artists target seniors because they are likely to have greater financial resources and accessibility to benefits, … ]]> Sun, 20 Jul 2014 02:13:20 -0500 http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/28735335-474/laurie-samuels-dont-let-retirement-make-you-vulnerable-to-senior-scams.html http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/28735335-474/laurie-samuels-dont-let-retirement-make-you-vulnerable-to-senior-scams.html <![CDATA[ Speak Out for July 20, 2014 ]]> Lead story image

Blue Island is a town of complete gridlock: 20,000 people, 30,000 cars. Closed bridges, closed railroad tracks, parking on both sides of all streets. Every street  is used like it’s a one-way. How about parking on one way of the street or make all the streets one way? GP from Blue Island The Elizabeth Seton Church Choir of Orland Hills gave an exceptional program for the Independence Day Mass and service. This choir is very dedicated and can be counted on to go the extra mile as they did with their rendition of the “Battle Hymn of the Republic.” Each … ]]> Sun, 20 Jul 2014 02:12:39 -0500 http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/28734569-474/speak-out-for-july-20-2014.html http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/28734569-474/speak-out-for-july-20-2014.html <![CDATA[ Forum: Supports voter ID system ]]>

I am very much in favor of implementing a voter ID system in Illinois. It greatly reduces the opportunity for voter fraud. If you don’t have a picture ID today, you can’t even pick up your prescription or buy smokes. I really can’t understand why there are so many Democrats elected in our country, when most all Democrat-governed states are broke or nearly bankrupt and Republican states operate for the most part in the black. Businesses are moving to states such as Texas in droves. Businesses bring jobs and prosperity. With six years now under a Democratic administration, we have … ]]> Sun, 20 Jul 2014 02:13:09 -0500 http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/28735216-474/forum-supports-voter-id-system.html http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/28735216-474/forum-supports-voter-id-system.html <![CDATA[ Speak Out for July 18, 2014 ]]> Lead story image

It is mind-boggling to see so many homes, with able-bodied teenagers living in them, that have lawn services to do the mowing. When did hard work, sweat and pitching in as a family become passe? Tinley Park Why do some drivers have to go part way into the other lane of traffic to make a turn? You are not driving an 18-wheeler that needs to make wide turns. I almost hit a car today that came halfway into my lane to their left so they could turn right. On July 2, on the third day of a power outage, an … ]]> Fri, 18 Jul 2014 02:12:17 -0500 http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/28717846-474/speak-out-for-july-18-2014.html http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/28717846-474/speak-out-for-july-18-2014.html <![CDATA[ Speak Out for July 17, 2014 ]]> Lead story image

After Googling “grounds for impeachment,” I realized that impeachment against Mr. Obama isn’t likely to happen in spite of his many abuses of his power, actions or inactions against us and other countries. Evidently impeachment can only be attained by a “supermajority” from both sides of the aisle. To put it bluntly, we’ve become a completely polarized republic. There’s no more “compromise.” No Congressional sanity. What’s scary is that the president and his lemmings have two more years to run amok. I sincerely hope we can survive. Bob from Oak Forest To the village administrators in Orland Park who promised … ]]> Thu, 17 Jul 2014 02:12:29 -0500 http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/28702693-474/speak-out-for-july-17-2014.html http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/28702693-474/speak-out-for-july-17-2014.html <![CDATA[ Speak Out for July 16, 2014 ]]> Lead story image

Illinois Auditor General William Holland, in a state audit report, revealed that the Illinois Department of Healthcare and Family Services paid $12.3 million in Illinois Medicaid payments for 2,850 enrollees who were dead. Another star in the crown worn by the Democrat Party-controlled state government. Not to worry though: The dead people remain on the party’s active, eligible voter rolls. Alsip Is there a completion date for the curb and sewer work along Oak Park Avenue in Tinley Park? There is rarely anyone working. C from Tinley Park It seems to a lot of us that our president is doing … ]]> Wed, 16 Jul 2014 02:12:03 -0500 http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/28677823-474/speak-out-for-july-16-2014.html http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/28677823-474/speak-out-for-july-16-2014.html <![CDATA[ Speak Out for July 15, 2014 ]]> Lead story image

I thought for a change we should give kudos instead of criticism. Thank you to the Illinois Patriot Guard Riders who treated about 20 of PFC Aaron Toppen’s friends to lunch (including the tip!) at Legend’s Bar and Grill in Mokena after they all participated in the heartrending escort on June 21 from Midway to Mokena. That was an extraordinary gesture of kindness and generosity that most people would not expect from a motorcycle club. Thank you for all you do. Mokena If you’re tired of the power outages and the flooding problems in Burbank and nothing being done about … ]]> Tue, 15 Jul 2014 09:43:02 -0500 http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/2609094-474/speak-out-for-july-15-2014.html http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/2609094-474/speak-out-for-july-15-2014.html <![CDATA[ Speak Out for July 14, 2014 ]]> Lead story image

Let’s replace the snide and sarcastic bragger Steve Stone in the broadcast booth with A.J. Pierzynski. The only person Stone could not roll over was Harry Caray. When Stone is taking a day off, the Sox broadcast is much better with Ken Harrelson and whoever is sitting in that day. Now your sports section is covering local auto racing. Are you kidding me? Worth Why is Gov. Quinn so worried about Rauner’s tax returns? It’s no secret that he is a very wealthy man. And if he takes advantage of loopholes it’s because he can. Let’s talk about getting rid … ]]> Mon, 14 Jul 2014 02:08:26 -0500 http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/28610186-474/speak-out-for-july-14-2014.html http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/28610186-474/speak-out-for-july-14-2014.html <![CDATA[ ]]> Lead story image

… ]]> Fri, 11 Jul 2014 20:16:00 -0500 http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/28607905-474/story.html http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/28607905-474/story.html <![CDATA[ Reeder: Job growth in Illinois? Follow Indiana’s lead ]]> Lead story image

For every job Illinois has created during the past decade, Indiana has created 35, according to the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics. I’ve been to Indiana. I know Hoosiers. And the average Hoosier isn’t any smarter than the rest of us. They may think so, but we know better. But let’s face it, their economy is outperforming Illinois’ by leaps and bounds. The two states have identical climates — rich farmland, strong manufacturing heritages and similar work forces. But the Hoosier State is kicking our economic butt six ways to Sunday. Illinois has one of the lowest job creation rates … ]]> Fri, 18 Jul 2014 17:58:52 -0500 http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/28555906-474/reeder-job-growth-in-illinois-follow-indianas-lead.html http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/28555906-474/reeder-job-growth-in-illinois-follow-indianas-lead.html <![CDATA[ Miller: Supreme Court ruling likely spells doom for pension reform ]]> Lead story image

In a sweeping 6-1 decision, the Illinois Supreme Court has struck down an attempt to force state government retirees to pay more for their subsidized health insurance. And while nothing is ever certain when it comes to the judiciary, the justices made it pretty clear that Illinois’ pension reform law faces real trouble in passing constitutional review. The Supreme Court, in an opinion led by Justice Charles Freeman, did not specifically rule on the reform law but declared “it is clear” that all pension benefits, including health insurance, cannot be “diminished or impaired” under the Illinois Constitution. “We may not … ]]> Fri, 18 Jul 2014 18:08:24 -0500 http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/28555864-452/miller-supreme-court-ruling-likely-spells-doom-for-pension-reform.html http://southtownstar.suntimes.com/opinions/28555864-452/miller-supreme-court-ruling-likely-spells-doom-for-pension-reform.html